Wow.. I’m Learning

Wow I guess you can teach an old dog new tricks.  This class has really opened my eyes to how little knowledge and skill I had in terms of using technology.  Now I am not stating that I am an expert or that I will continue blogging or tweeting everyday but I now see the benefit of technology in schools.  I now realize that there is a place for more technology in the classroom but that we must have certain things in place prior to that.  First, we must have training available for teachers.  If we expect and want teachers to implement technology in the classroom we must offer them the opportunity to learn the skills necessary to use it with their students.  They need to have an understanding of the pros and cons of any type of technology they will be using in the classroom.  Second, we must have division support by having them understand the importance of teaching our students how to use technology. Finally, we must teach kids the importance of understanding their responsibilities when using technology.  They must  realize that digital citizenship is important and that they can and will leave digital footprints throughout their lives.

Overall I truly believe I learned something…who would of guessed that?  I hope everyone enjoys the presentation Justine and I put together.  I really enjoyed working with her (as I do everyday) plus I enjoyed the opportunity corresponding with everyone in the class.

Leave a Reply

